Genesis 18, 21 — Bitterness and joy

There are times in the Bible that I wish we could’ve caught people’s reactions on video.  How exactly did they say the things they said.  For example, when Abraham and Sarah laughed at the words of God in Genesis 17 and 18, did they laugh in the same way?  Or was there a different kind of tone in their laughter?

I kind of think (and this is pure speculation on my part) that there was a difference in the tone of their laughter.  I tend to think that when Abraham laughed, it was like he heard a good joke.  “Say what?  Sarah’s going to have a baby at her age?  That’s a good one Lord.  Tell me another one.  (Under his breath) Sarah having a baby.  Heh.”

For Sarah, I kind of wonder if her laughter had a tinge of bitterness in it.  She knew the promises God had made to Abraham decades before.  And they still hadn’t happened.  During that time, she suffered through the shame of not being able to bear a child, even having her own maidservant mock her over it.  And now God was saying, “Sarah will have a child.”

And Sarah’s response:  “Ha!  Yeah, right.  I’ve heard that one before, and nothing has ever happened.  Now I’m old and worn out, my husband is an old man, and now we’re going to have a child?  Please!”

When we are forced to wait for God’s promises to come to pass in our lives, it can be easy to become bitter.  When we do the things we feel God has asked us to do, and still we find no blessing in our lives, it’s easy to become bitter.  It’s easy to think that the blessing will never come.  That God won’t actually keep his promises.  What do we do?  Do we hold on to the promises?  Do we hold on to the belief that God will bless us in our lives?  Or do we give up?

Abraham and Sarah both faltered in their faith during their time in the promised land.  But ultimately both continued to put their faith in God.  And in the end, they found God’s blessing.  God showed grace to them despite their wavering hearts, and gave them a son.  And when he did, their laughter of unbelief and bitterness changed into the laughter of joy.

Sarah said, “God has brought me laughter, and everyone who hears about this will laugh with me.” 7 And she added, “Who would have said to Abraham that Sarah would nurse children? Yet I have borne him a son in his old age.” Genesis 21:6-7 (NIV)

Lord, there are times that it’s hard to wait for your blessing.  Sometimes my faith wavers and I end up trying to do things my own way as Abraham and Sarah did.  But Lord, always bring me back to you.  I thank you for your grace that though I falter, though I waver, you never do.  Help me to have the patience to wait on you and your promises.  In Jesus name, amen.

About BK

I have been in Japan as a missionary since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com. 1995年に宣教師として日本に来ました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com.
This entry was posted in Genesis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment