Exodus 35-36 — Willing to give, willing to serve

Well, I think we’re down to the final two days of Exodus.  Most of the last few chapters are reiterations of the commands that God gave to Moses in the building of the tabernacle.

But one thing that struck me here is the heart of the people.  God said, “Only those whose hearts move them should give and serve for the making of the tabernacle.”  God didn’t want anyone to give or serve out of compulsion.  He wanted them to do so because they wanted to.

And the people did so.  In fact, they ultimately gave so much, that they had to be restrained from giving more.

And that’s how the church should be.  People should be giving and serving, not because they have to, but out of the joy in their hearts that God has given them.  Paul wrote to the Corinthians, “Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.”  (II Corinthians 9:7).

This verse is talking about giving, but the same could also be said about serving God.  God doesn’t want you to serve him because you have to.  But because you want to.  And if you’re giving or serving because you feel you have to, not only are you missing out on the joy of giving and serving, but what you’re offering will not be accepted by God.

What kind of heart are you giving from?  What kind of heart are you serving from?  Are you giving and serving hoping that others are watching you, and thinking what a great Christian you are?  Are you giving or serving because you feel you have to in order to be a good Christian?  Or are you so joyous about the life that God has given you, that you give and serve willingly?

Lord, so many times my motives are not right when I give or serve.  Sometimes I serve, looking for the praise of people.  Sometimes I give because I feel I have to.  But Lord, that’s not the kind of heart you want from me.   Remind me always of just how much you have given me.  Give me a thankful heart.  Give me a joyful heart.  And give me a heart that’s so thankful and joyful, that I’m willing to serve you and willing to give.  In Jesus name, amen.

 

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in Exodus. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

