Psalm 57 — Choosing to worship

As I look at this psalm, I marvel at David’s attitude in times of trial.  At a time when he is on the run and in fear of his life, he chooses to worship.

He said,

7 My heart is steadfast, O God,
my heart is steadfast;
I will sing and make music.

8 Awake, my soul!
Awake, harp and lyre!
I will awaken the dawn.

9 I will praise you, O Lord, among the nations;
I will sing of you among the peoples.

10 For great is your love, reaching to the heavens;
your faithfulness reaches to the skies.

11 Be exalted, O God, above the heavens;
let your glory be over all the earth.

Somehow, as I read these words, they resonate with me.

I WILL sing and make music!

AWAKE my soul!

AWAKE harp and lyre!

I WILL praise you O Lord!

I WILL praise you among the peoples!

For GREAT is your love!

Be EXALTED O God!

I don’t know if that’s how David sang this song.  But it seems to me throughout it, David is making a conscious decision to worship God despite his circumstances.  He’s making a conscious effort to remember God’s goodness towards him.

So often, we say to ourselves, “But I don’t feel like worshiping right now.  I’m just not in the mood.”

But just as David encouraged himself to worship God, we need to do the same.  To not just worship when we feel like it.  But to worship even when we don’t.  Why?

A more modern psalm puts it this way.

When I look into your glory and light,
The things of earth pale in your sight.

Or as another song puts it,

The things that surround become shadows in the light of you.

In other words, all the things of this world that would pull us down and that would discourage us, all of them become like mere shadows compared to the shining light that is Christ.  And when we focus on him, all of our troubles pale in comparison.

Why?  Because when we focus on Christ, we realize that he is much bigger than our problems, and everything in life takes its proper perspective.

So when life seems hard, when things seem to be going against you, choose to worship.  And as you put your focus on him, the peace and joy that seems to be slipping away from you because of your circumstances will return.  And as David, you will be able to say, “My heart is steadfast,” despite your circumstances.

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in Books of Poetry, Old Testament, Psalms. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

