Isaiah 44: 1-5 — Remembering to whom we belong

My life.  My money.  My things.  My body.

How often do we think or say these words?  And how often do we mess up our lives by taking that attitude?

When we take that kind of attitude, we only end up thirsting for a life that truly fulfills.  So many people think that a fulfilled life comes by making everything about themselves.  But a self-centered life will never fulfill.  On the contrary, it ultimately leaves us empty and dry.

That’s how the Israelites were for much of their history.  They lived for themselves, and as a result, they were now exiled from their own land, dry and withered in their souls.  But here God tells them,

But now listen, O Jacob, my servant, Israel, whom I have chosen.  This is what the Lord says– he who made you, who formed you in the womb, and who will help you:  Do not be afraid, O Jacob, my servant, Jeshurun, whom I have chosen.  For I will pour water on the thirsty land, and streams on the dry ground; I will pour out my Spirit on your offspring, and my blessing on your descendants.  (1-3)

Perhaps Isaiah thought of the words of Joel as he wrote this, looking forward to the time when God would pour his Spirit on all flesh.  And God says here that though Israel had turned their backs on him, they were still his chosen ones, and that he would help and restore them.  And as he poured out his Spirit on them, their dry and withered lives would become refreshed and renewed.  When that happened, a new attitude would be born in them.  No longer would they say, “My life.  My things.  I belong to myself alone.”  Rather,

One will say, ‘I belong to the Lord’…still another will write on his hand, ‘The Lord’s.’  (5)

And therein lies the key to a fulfilled life.  A life filled with His Spirit, refreshed and renewed by his presence and power.  A life where we are proud to say, “I belong to God.  I am his.”

How about you?  Are you feeling empty?  Unfulfilled?  You will not find fulfillment in living for yourself.  You won’t find it in filling your life with possessions, money, or the pleasures of this world.  All these things ultimately leave you empty.  Only when you are filled with God’s Spirit and are living for him, will you find true peace and contentment.

Who do you belong to?  Who are you living for?

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in Isaiah, Major Prophets, Old Testament and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

