Isaiah 46:5-13 — The God whose purposes stand

As God has done for much for much of the past few chapters, he continues to clearly define the differences between the gods of the nations and himself.  In verse 5, he said,

To whom will you compare me or count me equal?  To whom will you liken me that we may be compared?  (5)

He then points out that after the people of the other nations finish forming their gods, these gods can’t even move themselves.  They have to be lifted up and carried to their place.  And once they are set down, they are powerless to even change their position.  When people cry out to them, they can’t answer, nor can they help.  After all, if they can’t even move themselves, how can they help anyone else?

So once again God tells the people,

Remember the former things, those of long ago; I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me.  (9)

How is God different?

I make known the end from the beginning, from ancient times what is still to come.  I say:  My purpose will stand, and I will do all that I please…What I have said, that will I bring about; what I have planned, that will I do.  (10-11)

In other words, God holds the future.  He knows what will happen.  But not only that, he knows what his plans are, and no one is powerful enough to thwart him.  Not Satan, nor any human who has ever lived or ever will live.  God is never taken by surprise.  He knows how history will unfold, and he has the power to mold it according to his will.

And that is especially seen in Jesus Christ.  God says,

Listen to me, you stubborn-hearted, you who are far from righteousness.  I am bringing my righteousness near, it is not far away; and my salvation will not be delayed.  I will grant salvation to Zion, my splendor to Israel.  (12-13)

God sent his Son to save people from their sin.  And though Satan fought against Him and caused God’s own people to rise against Him, yet God wove all of that into his plan, and brought about salvation through Jesus Christ.  That through his death on the cross, our sins were paid for, and we who were far from righteousness and far from God can be brought near.

And if he could do all that, we can have confidence that he holds our future as well.  That nothing will happen that can derail his plans for the world, and for us.

Lord, I thank you that your purposes stand.  That none, not even Satan can thwart you.  Let me be part of that plan today and every day.  I want to be used for you.  Use me as you will.  Shape me.  Mold me.  And make a difference in this world through me.  I give myself to you.  In Jesus name, amen.

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in Isaiah, Major Prophets, Old Testament. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

