Psalm 65 — The God who saves us and fills us

It’s hard to tell in what situation this psalm was written.  It’s possible it was written after a time of famine or drought as a result of God’s judgment, followed by a time of repentance and blessing.

The psalmist starts with praise to God for his mercies.  He sings,

Praise awaits you, our God, in Zion; to you our vows will be fulfilled.  You who answer prayer, to you all people will come.  When we were overwhelmed by sins, you forgave our transgressions.  Blessed are those you choose and bring near to live in your courts!  We are filled with the good things of your house, of your holy temple.  (1-4)

Here the psalmist looks back on their sin and God’s judgment.  I love verse 3.  “When we were overwhelmed by sins, you forgave our transgressions.”

We were overwhelmed and overpowered by our sins.  There was no escape for us from the judgment to come.  But “while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”  (Romans 5:8)

Now he draws us near to himself and he brings blessing in our lives.  We no longer live in fear of him.  Rather we look upon him in love for his mercy and grace.

And the psalmist looks forward to the day when all will come before God in heaven and rejoice over his great mercy (verse 1).

He then says,

You answer us with awesome and righteous deeds, God our Savior, the hope of all the ends of the earth and of the farthest seas  (5).

The rest of the psalm looks at God’s power in creation and his sustenance of it through the water he pours down to bless the earth.

But as I read this, I see something else.  I see the most awesome of deeds that our Savior did for us.  His death on the cross for our sins.  And because he has done so, he truly has become our hope in this dying world.

Now, just as he pours out water from the heavens to bless the earth, he pours out the living water of his Holy Spirit upon us and fills us with Himself each and every day.  Through his Spirit, he brings forth abundant fruit through us as he pours out his grace upon us and all those whom we touch.

Lord, I thank you for your grace that you poured upon me to save me from my sins.  That when I was powerless to save myself, you saved me.  Lord fill me with your Spirit.  Let your Spirit overflow in my life that I might bear your fruit and touch those around me.  Thank you for the joy that you pour into my life.  In Jesus name, amen.

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in Books of Poetry, Old Testament, Psalms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

