Psalm 124 — Rejoicing in God’s favor

This psalm was written by David, but it’s not clear what the context of the psalm was.  In all probability, it was written after a great victory in battle when the odds seemed against them.  It’s the type of psalm that could’ve been written after David’s victory over Goliath (although I doubt this was the case).

At any rate, we see David rejoicing at the favor of God in his life.  He shouts outs in joy, “If God had not been with us, if he had not been on our side, we would’ve been wiped out.  But because he is with us, he broke the trap they set for us and we escaped. ”  (1-7)

Then he concludes by singing,

Our help is in the name of the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth.  (8)

I (fortunately) have never experienced a personal attack on my life, but I am grateful that God saved me from the spiritual trap Satan set for me.  That while I was powerless to save myself, Christ died for me. (Romans 5:6-8)

Why did he do so?  Because he loved me.  Because he was on my side.  I don’t know why he would choose to help me, but he did.  And he’s on your side too.  So as we read this psalm, let us never forget the grace that the Lord has poured out so richly upon us all.

Lord, thank you that though I don’t deserve it, you pour out your favor upon me.  That you saved me from Satan’s trap, and have brought me into your kingdom.  Lord, I rejoice in your favor.  Now let me go out, and share what you’ve given me to the people around me.  In Jesus name, amen.

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in Books of Poetry, Old Testament, Psalms and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

