Matthew 6:9; Luke 11:2 — The one who is worthy of our honor

Well, I have a praise report before I start this blog.  After 2 months of fighting my computer, I finally figured out the problem.  A corrupted hard drive.  So with my new hard drive in, hopefully all my problems are behind me.

We now hit the second part of the Lord’s prayer, or as some have correctly pointed out, what’s really the “Disciples’ prayer.”

Jesus said to pray, “Hallowed be your name.”

Although I’ve been a Christian a long time, and I kind of like the word “Hallowed” in the Lord’s prayer, it really isn’t a word we use nowadays.  I doubt very many people ever use it outside the Lord’s prayer.

What does it mean?  Basically it means to recognize and revere something or someone as holy.  Which brings up the next question.  What does “holy” mean?  Essentially, it comes down to his perfection and purity in nature and character.  There is no flaw in either.

This is in contrast to us who are far from perfect and far from pure in our nature and character.

So when we look at God in his perfection and purity, we are to stand in awe of that and honor him for who he is.

But to merely stand in awe is not enough.  As we admire his perfection and purity, it should also stir something in our hearts that desires to be like him.

Just as a child longs to be like their father or mother, so we should have a heart that desires to be like our Heavenly Father.  That strives to be like him.  That desires to please him.  And that groans at our imperfections and our impurities.

To pray “hallowed be your name,” leaves no room for us to live a life of sin.  To say, “Well, God will forgive me for my sin, so I’ll just do my own thing.”

To pray “hallowed be your name,” if you are a true child of God, is to say, “Lord I so stand in awe of you, and I love you so much, that I want to be like you.  Help me.”

And he will.  God takes great delight when his children imitate him. And though we may occasionally fall into the muck and mire of our sin (as we inevitably will), he will lift us out of our brokenness, wash us clean with the blood of his Son, take our hand, and lead us forward, teaching us and giving us the power to become more like Him.

How about you?  Do you stand in awe of God, and desire to become more like him?

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in Gospels, Luke, New Testament and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

