Matthew 6:10; 11:2 — His Kingdom, His Will

I was in a quandary this morning.  I was asked in for an interview for a job that would be higher paying and have better benefits than the one I have now.  Whether I’ll get it or not, I don’t know.

My current company, however, seemed to be doing whatever they could to prevent me from going to the interview.  They denied me a day off, for reasons that were not clear, and so I was trying to find a way to go to the interview without breaking conscience.

In the end, by God’s grace, everything worked out.  With the vice-principal’s and head English teacher’s help (I work at a junior high school), I was able to convince my employer to give me a half-day off for which I’m truly grateful.

As for whether I’ll get the job or not, we’ll see.

What does this have to do with this blog?  Well, we’re praying, “Your kingdom come.  Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.”

I’ll be honest.  I was very stressed this morning.  I felt like I was being treated “unfairly” as I mentioned several blogs ago.  And as I said then, I couldn’t control my circumstances.  All I could control was my attitude, and it was difficult.

But in the end, I had to say, “Lord, your will be done.”  I didn’t know what my current employer would say when I went to work this morning, and even now,  I don’t know if I can even get this job I’m interviewing for.

But I’m praying ,”Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.  Your will in heaven is perfectly done.  I pray that it would be perfectly done on earth, and especially right now, in this situation.  If you want me to get this job, work everything out.  If not, help me to accept your will.”

But another part of this prayer is “Your kingdom come.”  As important as getting this job is to me, my first priority needs to be his kingdom.  Honestly, I feel I can do more for God’s kingdom with this job.  I’d have more time to do the things I think God wants me to do, to go along with the better pay and benefits.

I read further than this passage today, I will admit, because I was reading where Jesus was saying not to be anxious about this life.  And the thing that caught my eye was Matthew 6:33, where he says to seek God’s kingdom first.  And if we do that, everything will fall in place.

Like I said, I don’t know how things will fall out.  But as God gives me grace, my prayer is, “Your kingdom come, your will be done.  In my life.  And in the world around me.”

Lord, you know my stress.  You know my worries.  But you are Lord of all.  Lord of my employer.  More importantly, Lord of me.  Let your will be done.  In my job situation.   With my future.  And let me always keep in focus your kingdom above all things.  In Jesus name, amen.

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in Gospels, Luke, Matthew, New Testament and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

