Matthew 6:11; Luke 11:3 — Praying for our needs

One of the most amazing things to me is that the God of this whole universe cares about me, even the simple and perhaps mundane things.  Yet he does.  And so Jesus tells us to pray,

Give us today our daily bread.

Jesus will talk about this in more detail later when he talks about anxiety, but God does care that we have what we need to live.  Food.  Clothes.  A place to stay.  Of course, all of these things require money.  And to have money, we need a job.

So often we worry about these things.  It is, I must admit, something that I’m thinking about constantly as I interview for a new job next week.

But God doesn’t call us to worry about these things.  To let these things dominate our mind.  Rather, he calls us to pray about them and leave them in his hands, knowing that our heavenly Father loves us and will meet our needs.

How often do we worry about things instead of praying?  (I’m speaking to myself too, by the way).  I suppose the big question we need to ask is, “Do I really think my Father really cares about me?  That he really will give me all I need?”  Because if we would just realize this, all our worries would shrink and disappear.

How about you?  Are you worrying about the circumstances of your life, or are you praying?

Lord, you know my needs.  You know this job I’m trying to get.  You know my anxieties about my future.  But Lord, you care about me.  I know that in my head.  Lord, let it truly sink down into my heart, that I may not fruitlessly worry about things, but instead rest in your peace.  In Jesus name, amen.

 

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in Gospels, Luke, Matthew, New Testament and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

