Matthew 6:25-33; Luke 12:22-34 — Worry

This is one of those passages that I know in my head, but I don’t know if it has truly sunk into my heart.  In fact, I’m pretty sure it hasn’t.

I know because I still worry about stuff, most recently about my job and my finances.

So when I read this, my mind says, “That makes sense.  God takes care of the birds.  He takes care of the flowers of the field.  Surely he will take care of me.”

And yet, I still find myself worrying about things.  How can I save more money?  Will I be able to get a better job?”

While some things I worry about are to a degree controllable, other things are, at least to some degree, not.

So again, my mind says, “You’ve done what you can.  Now leave it in God’s hands.  Be at peace.”

But my heart wars against it and continues to worry.

I can just hear Jesus speaking to me, “O you of little faith!  The world runs after these things, but don’t you know that your Father cares about you?  Don’t you know he’ll take care of your needs?  So take your eyes off these things and put it on him.  If you do, if you seek him and his kingdom above all things, he will take care of you.”

To be honest, because I struggle with this so much, all I can think of to do is to pray.  Please feel free to join me.

Father, you said that you love me.  That you care for me.  I do believe it.  But Lord increase my faith.  I have so little of it, and that’s why I worry so much.  But Lord, you have been faithful to me in the past.  I have no real reason to doubt you.  Why do I doubt you now?  Lord, help me to get my eyes off of my worries, and on to you, that “all things that surround [may] become shadows in the light of you.”

You are the only true reality.  Help me to focus on you.  And to trust.  In Jesus name, amen.

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in Gospels, Luke, Matthew and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

