John 7:16-18 — Who are we serving?

As I was reading through this passage yesterday, these verses really struck me, particularly as a teacher of God’s Word.

My teaching is not my own.  It comes from him who sent me.  If anyone chooses to do God’s will, he will find out whether my teaching comes from God or whether I speak on my own.  He who speaks on his own does so to gain honor for himself, but he who works for the honor of the one who sent him is a man of truth; there is nothing false about him.

The question I ask myself is, “Where is my teaching coming from?  Is it coming from myself?  Or is it coming from God?  Why do I speak?  Is it for my own honor that people might be impressed by me?  Or is it for the glory of God?”

As Christians, we are to be people of truth with nothing false about us.  Not just the pastors and teachers, but all of us.

But if we are to be people of truth, we need to be clear on who we are serving.  We need to be clear about whose honor we are seeking.  Are we simply seeking our own honor?  Or are we seeking God’s?  Are we truly serving God?  Or are we simply serving ourselves in God’s name?

If we are merely seeking our own honor, if we are seeking the praise of men, we will tend to water down the gospel that God has given us to share…if we share it at all.  Or like the Pharisees, we become hypocrites, pretending to seek God, but in reality seeking the praise of the people around us.

Who are you serving?  Whose honor are you seeking?

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in Gospels, John, New Testament and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

