John 10:1-21 — The good shepherd

Here we see a beautiful picture of Jesus’ relationship with us.  And he paints the picture with the imagery of a shepherd  and his sheep.

He said,

The sheep listen to [the shepherd’s] voice.  He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out.  When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice.  (3-4)

What do we get from this?

In short, Jesus has a very personal relationship with us.  I teach in a high school, and I have to admit, with 40 students in a class, most of whom I only teach once a week, it’s hard to remember my student’s names.  It’s hard for a lot of the teachers too, as they often keep track of names with a seating chart list.

Think about trying to differentiate sheep, however.  For just about anyone, they would probably look all alike.  But the shepherd knows each sheep by name.

It’s hard to fathom that in a world full of billions of people, that Jesus would know my name.  That he would actually care enough to know my name.  And not only to know my name, but to actually take the time to lead me and care for me.  To go ahead of me.  And if that weren’t enough, to be willing to lay his life down for me.  Jesus said,

I am the good shepherd.  The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.  (11)

Think about the relative worth between a shepherd and his sheep.  By any practical measure, there’s no comparison at all.

Now consider the relative worth of the God of the universe, and…you.  Yet Jesus cared enough about you, he loved you so much, that he left everything to become a man, to suffer on a cross, and die for your sins.

I don’t know about you, but to me, that’s mind-blowing.  But that’s the love he has for you and me.

Lord Jesus, thank you that you are my shepherd.  That though there are millions of other people in this world, still you know my name.  And that even if I were the only one who were lost, you would have still died for me.  Your love is so amazing.  Help me to truly grasp it.  And help me to be a vessel of your love that others may know you and become your sheep as well.  In Jesus name, amen.

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in Gospels, John, New Testament. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

