Luke 12:13-21 — When our time comes

Our life is fragile.  And in an instant, it can be taken from us.  Whether it be in a car accident, an earthquake, or whatever it may be.

And on that day, when we see God, what will he say to us?

Jesus was asked by a man to make his brother divide the family inheritance.  Apparently there was some dispute on how it should be divided, but the main point was, the man was in love with money.  Perhaps his father was rich, and for years, he had dreamed of the money he would inherit when his father died.  But when that day came, he found himself on the short end of the stick, and all his dreams of comfort and luxury were dashed.

And so he came up to Jesus to try to rectify the situation.

But Jesus quickly rebuffed him, saying,

Man, who appointed me a judge or an arbiter between you?  (14)

In short, “Forget it.”

And then Jesus gave the second warning in this chapter.  Earlier he had given a severe warning about hypocrisy.  Now he warns us against greed, saying,

Watch out!  Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; a man’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions.  (15)

What was he telling the man?  Life isn’t all about things, and the comfort and luxury they might bring.

He then told a story about a man whose life was all about money and luxury.  He had had a very successful crop one year, and wondered what to do with it.  He could have given some to feed the poor.  He could have used his profit to help others in need.  But instead, he had only one thought.  Himself.

He said,

This is what I’ll do.  I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods.  And I’ll say to myself, “You have plenty of good things laid up for many years. Take life easy; eat, drink and be merry.”  (18-19)

That’s the dream of a lot of people.  Retire early, and then live for themselves.  Eat, drink, and be merry!

But God told the man,

You fool!  This very night your life will be demanded from you.  Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself.  (20)

And Jesus said,

This is how it will be with anyone who stores up things for himself but is not rich toward God.  (21)

So we get back to my original question.  When your time comes, what will God say to you?  Will he say, “You fool.  You totally wasted your life on things that were not important.”

Or will he say, “Well done, good and faithful servant.  Come and share your master’s happiness!”

Lord, help me to get my priorities right.  To remember what is truly important.  Help me not to get wrapped up in things or money.  Help me not to get wrapped up solely in my hobbies or pleasure.  Instead, help me to use the time you’ve given me on this earth wisely.  Help me to use my money wisely.  Too often, I have been a fool.  Help me to be so no longer.  In Jesus name, amen.

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in Gospels, Luke, New Testament and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

