John 12:44-50 — When we see and hear Jesus

So many people say, “I believe in God,” but refuse to put their faith in Jesus.

But if you truly believe in God, that is exactly what you cannot do.  Jesus says here,

Whoever believes in me does not believe in me only, but in the one who sent me.  The one who looks at me is seeing the one who sent me.  I have come into the world as a light, so that no one who believes in me should stay in darkness.  (44-46)

Jesus is saying here that to believe in him is to believe in God.  To see him is to see God.

He then said,

For I did not speak on my own, but the Father who sent me commanded me to say all that I have spoken.   I know that his command leads to eternal life.  So whatever I say is just what the Father has told me to say. (49-50)

So to hear Jesus also means to hear God, because he speaks the very words of God.  And to reject Jesus’ words is to reject God’s words.  More, to reject Jesus means to reject God himself.

And Jesus says,

There is a judge for the one who rejects me and does not accept my words; the very words I have spoken will condemn them at the last day.  (48)

All of us will be held accountable for what we have heard Jesus say.  If you believe him, you will find light and life.  But if you reject him, you will find only judgment and darkness.  What will you choose?

 

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in Gospels, John, New Testament and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

