Matthew 28:20 — The one who is always with us

We are rapidly coming to the end of the gospels.  It certainly took a lot longer than I expected.  I thought harmonizing the gospels would make things go a lot faster.  Maybe it has, but it’s still taken nearly 11 months to get through them.  But it’s been fun, and I’ve really enjoyed it.

I wanted to talk about this in the last blog, but it was getting long as it was.  After giving all his instructions to his disciples, Jesus encouraged them saying,

And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.

Jesus was soon going to heaven.  And after he left, the disciples would have a great work to do, to spread the kingdom of God.  While there would be great joy in that, Jesus also knew they would suffer persecution and hardship as well.  Most of his disciples would die for their faith.  But the one thing Jesus promised them was that though they would no longer be able to see him with their eyes, he nevertheless would be with them.  He would not leave them as orphans, but send his Spirit to dwell within them and be with them.  (John 14:16-20)

He makes the same promise to us.  No matter where we go, no matter what we do, no matter what joys or hardships we go through, he will never leave us lonely.  He is with us.  And always will be.

Lord, I thank you that you are with me.  That though I have failed you so many times, you have never abandoned me.  Lord Jesus, help me to sense your presence in my life more.  To hear your voice.  To see you working in me and through me.  You have promised to be with me to the end of the age.  Thank you for that.  Now each day, let me draw closer to you.  I want to know you more.  In your name I pray, amen.

 

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in Gospels, Matthew, New Testament and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

