Romans 5:1-2 — The grace in which we stand

It would be so easy to just zoom past these passages, having read them so often.  But I can’t help but linger here, and think about all Paul is saying here.

Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God.

Peace with God.  I think of my own household.  Sometimes my wife and I will have a disagreement, and the tension is utterly palpable.  But then we resolve things and there’s peace.  No uncomfortable silences.  No sudden need to “get some air.”  Instead, a relaxed smile.  Laughter.  Just enjoying each other’s company.

And because of Jesus, we can enjoy that same kind of relationship with God.  No stepping on eggshells.  No wondering what God is really thinking about me.  But relaxing in his presence knowing I’m accepted and loved.

Standing in grace.  I was standing in judgment.  The judge, gavel in hand, was about to pass sentence.  And then Jesus came, sweeping me out the door, and now I stand somewhere else.  In grace.  Grace in terms of forgiveness for every sin I’ve ever committed.  Grace in terms of being in the King’s favor.  That though I deserve nothing from him, he looks upon me with a smile, and delights in showering me with good gifts.

So whenever I fail, whenever I fear, whenever I’m in need, all I need to do is look at where I am at.  In grace.  Not in judgment.  In grace.  And because of that, there is joy.  There is hope.

All because of what Jesus did on the cross for me.  He gave me access into this grace I now stand.  And he gives access to all who put their trust in him.

Father, thank you for the grace in which I stand.  Thank you that Jesus opened up the door and gave me access to this grace through his death on the cross.  Help me to revel in your grace every moment of every day that I may know your joy, your peace, and your hope.  And may I pass on that grace to those around me that they may know and experience it too.  In Jesus name, amen.

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in New Testament, Pauline epistles, Romans and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

