Hebrews 11:11-12 – – Faith to see beyond (part 2)

“It’s impossible. I can’t do it.”

How often do we see situations in life and say that, if not with our mouths, then in our hearts?

That’s how Abraham and Sarah must have felt. God first gave them the promise of a child when they were 75 and 65 respectively. Twenty-four years passed and still no baby had come. In the meantime, they had made their own plans to have an heir, as Sarah gave her slave Hagar to Abraham in order to have an heir through her. But God said, “No, this is not what I meant when I said I’d give you a son. You will have a son through Sarah.”

At this, Abraham laughed. And now with them 99 and 89 years old, God again promised that Sarah would have a baby, and this time Sarah laughed. It seemed utterly impossible. But eventually, they both saw past their own limitations and saw that with God, all things are possible. And so they kept on trying to have a child.

And the writer of Hebrews tells us,

By faith Abraham, even though he was past age–and Sarah herself was barren–was enabled to become a father because he considered him faithful who had made the promise. And so from this one man, and he as good as dead, came descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky and as countless as the sand on the seashore. (11-12)

How about you? What situations are you going through that seem utterly impossible? Many things seem utterly impossible because of our own weaknesses and limitations. But God has no weaknesses or limits.

So do you have the faith to see beyond your own weaknesses and limits and put your trust in him who has no limits?

Lord, so many times, I look at my situation, and can only see the impossibility of it. It’s impossible because I look at myself and see that I don’t have the power to change things. But Lord, you do. So help me to see beyond my weaknesses. Help me to see beyond my limitations. And help me to trust in you and do whatever you ask of me. Because I know you’re God of the impossible. And with you, all things are possible. In Jesus name, amen.

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in General Epistles, Hebrews, New Testament and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

