The end of all things (this blog)

I started this blog on May 26, 2011. By the grace of God, I have been able to post something on this blog almost every day since then. This blog makes 1,766 total posts which means I could officially rename this blog, “Through the Bible in 4 years, 304 days” or “Through the Bible in 1764 days” (not including my opening explanatory post and this finale.)

But I think I’ll keep the name as it is.

It started out as a blog to post my thoughts on the Bible, but it quickly turned into somewhat of a devotional commentary. I never imagined doing anything like this, but hopefully, it’s been a blessing to all you have been following me over the past 5 years.

So what will happen to this blog?

It won’t be going anywhere. I need it as I’m translating all this stuff into Japanese. While I’ve done this blog nearly daily, my Japanese translation is roughly three to three and a half years behind.

It’s my opinion that Japanese Christians need something like this as they go through the Bible. Unlike in the States, there are no study Bibles in Japanese, and most Japanese aren’t going to go out and buy commentaries. Hopefully, this will be a bridge for them. That’s my prayer anyway, and I’d appreciate your prayers as well.

I find it interesting that I now have as many daily readers of my Japanese blog as I’ve had readers of my English blog, although I’m no where near completing the Japanese one. I’m interested to see what will happen as I start translating more of these things into Japanese.

But as for this blog itself, aside from minor corrections of errors I find (usually Bible references) as I translate stuff into Japanese, and the occasional rewriting of things I find myself changing my mind on (I actually had to do this a couple days ago), this blog is done.

If I start writing another one, it will be closer to what I originally intended for this one: thoughts on my meditations in the Word. And each post will be much shorter. Should I start such a venture, I’ll make one last post in this blog to announce the new site.

I’ll still be posting my Sunday messages as I give them (about 6-8 times a year at my church). That can be found here –> https://sundaymessage.wordpress.com/

In the years since I started this blog, much has changed. The NIV changed (Total bummer. The last website that had the NIV 1984 changed to the 2011 a few months ago, and I found myself having to type the verses in). Although I found a great Bible in the NIV Zondervan Study Bible, my main Bible has actually changed to the ESV. (You can get this one for free on Kindle).

On the personal side, my wife and I celebrated our tenth anniversary. My daughter has turned from a 2-year old in diapers into a 6-year old elementary school student. God has also blessed me with a much more stable job for which I am grateful. And last year marked my 20th year in Japan.

On the sad side of things, I also saw my dad pass away, although happily, he went to be with Jesus.

But overall, God has been good, and I am so grateful that he has been with me, not only through this journey of going through the Bible, but through this journey of life.

I’m going to miss doing this. It’s been fun.

For you, my dear readers, I close with this prayer:

The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you; the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace. (Numbers 6:24-26)

Amen.

 

 

About bkshiroma

I'm from Hawaii, but have been in Japan as a missionary/English teacher since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com 私がハワイから来ましたけど1995年に宣教師と英会話の教師として日本に引っ越しました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com
This entry was posted in About this blog, New Testament. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

