Deuteronomy 4:5-9 — Wisdom and understanding

When people look at us, what do they see?  Are we the type of people that people come to when they’re in trouble and in need of advice? When they see us, do they see a people that are close to God?  Do they see a people filled with God’s wisdom and understanding?

God told the Israelites,

Observe [my decrees and laws] carefully, for this will show your wisdom and understanding to the nations, who will hear about all these decrees and say, “Surely this great nation is a wise and understanding people.” What other nation is so great as to have their gods near them the way the LORD our God is near us whenever we pray to him.  (verses 6-7)

If we want to be a people of wisdom and understanding, we need to be a people that stay close to God and follow what he has said.  We should be a people that when others see us, they are attracted to us because they see a righteousness, a wisdom, and a closeness to God that they themselves don’t have.

Do we have these things in our lives?  I don’t know about you, but I still feel lacking in these areas.  There are probably too many times that I blend in with the people around me, instead of standing out.  And yet, that is what God has called us to do.  Jesus said,

Let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.  (Matthew 5:16)

Lord, too often I blend in with the people around me.  I don’t stand out as a person filled with your wisdom and understanding.  I don’t stand out as a person that is close to you.  But that is what I want.  I want to be closer to you.  I want your wisdom and understanding in my life that  I might influence others.  Lord, help me to shine the light you lit in my heart.  Let me shine brightly and be the man you’ve called me to be.  In Jesus name, amen.

 

About BK

I have been in Japan as a missionary since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com. 1995年に宣教師として日本に来ました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com.
This entry was posted in Deuteronomy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment