Job 9 — The need for a mediator

In this passage, we see more of Job’s frustration bubbling over at God.  On one hand, he recognizes God’s sovereignty in this world.  But on the other hand, God seems so distant.

Job said,

When he passes me, I cannot see him; when he goes by, I cannot perceive him.  If he snatches away, who can stop him? Who can say to him, ‘What are you doing?’  (11-12)

Not only that, Job felt like God was torturing him for no good reason.  He said,

Even if I summoned him and he responded, I do not believe he would give me a hearing.  He would crush me with a storm and multiply my wounds for no reason.  He would not let me catch my breath but would overwhelm me with misery.  If it is a matter of strength, he is mighty!  And if it is a matter of justice, who can challenge him?  (16-19)

Further, it seemed like God was delighting in his misery.

When a scourge brings sudden death, he mocks the despair of the innocent.  (23)

Ultimately, it seemed to Job that God was simply being unjust.

It is all the same; that is why I say, ‘He destroys both the blameless and the wicked’…When a land falls into the hands of the wicked, he blindfolds its judges.  If it is not he, then who is it?  (22-24)

It’s easy to criticize Job, but considering all that he went through, I think most people, even the strongest of Christians would feel that way.

Still, there is some truth in this chapter that would be well to remember.  First, no one can stand before God and claim to be righteous.  Job said,

But how can mere mortals prove their innocence before God?  Though they wished to dispute with him, they could not answer him one time out of a thousand.  His wisdom is profound, his power is vast.  Who has resisted him and come out unscathed?  (2-4)

Many people think that they’ll be able to stand before God on judgment day and give a reasonable defense for themselves.  But on that day, he will lay out before us every evil thought, every evil deed, and even every incident where we failed to do what we knew was right.  And when he does, and we compare our lives to his holiness, we will know that there is nothing we can say to defend ourselves.  All our excuses, all our logical arguments, and everything we could say will be revealed for the shams that they are.

Many on that day will find themselves saying the words of Job,

How then can I dispute with him?  How can I find words to argue with him?  Though I were innocent (compared to others, that is, for no one is truly innocent), I could not answer him; I could only plead with my Judge for mercy.  (14-15)

Job knew he could not stand before God and be found innocent, and so he cried out,

If only there were someone to mediate between us, someone to bring us together, someone to remove God’s rod from me, so that his terror would frighten me no more.  Then I would speak up without fear of him, but as it now stands with me, I cannot.  (33-35)

He didn’t have that mediator.  But we do.  Paul wrote,

For there is one God and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus, who gave himself as a ransom for all men  (I Timothy 2:5-6).

He also wrote,

Christ Jesus who died—more than that, who was raised to life—is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us.  (Romans 8:34)

None of us can stand alone before God and be proclaimed guiltless before him.  All of us deserve to be condemned.  But Jesus is our mediator.  And he tells the Father, “I’ve paid for their sin on the cross.”  Now the Father says to us, “You are no longer condemned.  Your sins are forgiven.”

Not only that, in Jesus, we have someone who suffered like we do.  Unlike us, however, he was completely blameless, and yet suffered anyway.  So in Jesus, we have someone that understands our pain in suffering.  He understands our confusion.  He understands our feelings of abandonment.  And he reminds us that he went through every emotion we’re going through.

As the writer of Hebrews wrote,

Because [Jesus] himself suffered when he was tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.  (2:18)

And again,

For we do not have a high priest (in Jesus) who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet he did not sin.  Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.  (4:15-16)

About BK

I have been in Japan as a missionary since 1995. I'm currently going to a church called Crossroad Nishinomiya, an international church in Nishinomiya, a city right between Kobe and Osaka. Check out their website: crossroad-web.com. 1995年に宣教師として日本に来ました。 今西宮にあるクロスロード西宮という国際の教会に行っています。どうぞ、そのホムページを見てください: crossroad-web.com.
This entry was posted in Books of Poetry, Job, Old Testament and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment